The Five Sections

The Five Sections

The Five Sections

Irrespective of a member’s age, a young person in the Movement is a ‘Scout’.

The balanced Programme spans the 6-25 age range which is made up of five Sections. Each Section has its own identity, ethos and style. They all have adult support that varies in style across the different age groups.

A Beaver Scout Colony has members aged between six and eight. (minimum age 5 ¾, maximum age 8 ½ applies)

A Cub Scout Pack has members aged 8 – 10 ½ (6-month flexibility applies)

A Scout Troop is for young people aged from 10 ½ – 14 years (6-month flexibility applies)

Beavers, Cubs, Scouts are all part of our Scout Group.

An Explorer Scout Unit is for young people from 14-18 years old (minimum age 13 ½, maximum age 18). Explorer Scout Units are part of a Scout District (West Devon District), although some are attached to Groups.

A Scout Network is for young people aged 18 – 25 years old. Scout Networks are the responsibility of the Scout County (Devon).

There are several important things, which make Scouting different from many other youth organisations:

  • We are a uniformed movement
  • We use ‘Lodges’, ’Sixes’ and ‘Patrols’ of about 6 young people who work together, learning from and supporting each other
  • We involve young people in decision making as part of their development

Additionally the West Devon District has a Scout Active Support section, comprising adults who are prepared to assist with activities and events. If you would like to join the SAS mailing list and receive occasional requests for help, please ask one of our leaders or contact the West Devon District Team.

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls